New: pathway guides, toolkits and state profiles for seven states. Parts are still being confirmed with agencies and reviewers, and we update them as answers arrive. Learn more

Implementation toolkit

Facilities and Equipment for a CTE Pathway: Toolkit

In review Last checked

About this toolkit and what drives facility cost

This toolkit helps you plan the room and the equipment for a new CTE pathway: what the state requires, what is only recommended, how the space will be inspected, and which funds can pay for it. It is written once for every pathway. Nurse aide and electrical are the worked examples because they sit at opposite ends: one is governed by a health regulator with detailed lists in some states, the other by almost no state standard at all.

Three things drive what a lab costs, and they are worth sorting out before you price anything.

  1. Who sets the standard. Some pathways answer to an outside regulator whose approval depends on the room (nurse aide). Others answer only to the state CTE office and a credential provider (electrical). A regulator’s list is a floor you must meet. A CTE office list is usually advice.
  2. Infrastructure versus equipment. Equipment money is relatively easy to find. Money for a sink, new power drops, ventilation or a wall is not. Most state equipment grants and Perkins either bar construction and renovation or require prior approval. Find out early whether your room needs infrastructure work, because that part usually comes from local capital funds.
  3. Cohort size. Where a state sets ratios (beds per student, students per instructor in the lab), the cohort size sets the equipment count. Decide your cohort size before you build the equipment list.

No published, priced nurse aide lab or construction electrician lab from the seven states turned up in this research. This toolkit gives you what is required and what is typical, and a worksheet to price it locally. It does not invent a dollar figure.

Items are labeled , , or . Last checked October 2, 2026.

Worked example: the nurse aide skills lab

The federal nurse aide rule (42 CFR 483.152) requires at least 16 hours of supervised practical training “in a laboratory or other setting,” but it sets no standard for the room or the equipment. State rules and approval forms fill that gap, and they differ a great deal. Two states set numeric ratios, two name equipment categories, and three set only a general standard.

State Where the standard lives What it requires Ratios Inspection Status
Michigan R 400.301 to 400.357 A physical and social environment conducive to learning. No equipment list, square footage or sink rule. None LARA pre-permit survey (see Approvals toolkit) . : LEO’s sample equipment list could not be opened.
Virginia 18VAC90-26-50(D) and the Board on-site review form Comfortable temperature, clean and safe conditions, adequate lighting, space for all students, equipment for simulating client care, supplies sufficient for the number of students. At least 20 hours in the skills lab. 10 students per instructor in the skills lab Board on-site review tours classrooms and labs
North Carolina DHSR Basic Equipment and Supply List (rev. 4/20) A minimum list that programs may add to, including a sink with running water. 1 bed with rails per 10 students; 1 full-body manikin per 10 students; 1 stethoscope and 1 BP cuff per 2 students; 2 electronic thermometers per 5 students; 1 wheelchair, walker and standing scale per lab None found in the documents opened
Arizona R4-19-802 and the AZBN checklist Functional equipment in sufficient quantity for each student, by category: resident unit, vital signs, manikins for perineal care, personal care, elimination, PPE, restorative equipment, feeding and wound care, documentation forms. At least 20 hours of skills practice and testing in a lab. No numeric ratio Fire inspection report for each classroom and lab, at first use and after remodeling
Pennsylvania PDE NATCEP Report of Change Form (rev. May 2025) checklist Each mock resident unit has an adjustable bed with side rails, cleanable mattress, bedside cabinet and chair, overbed table, signaling device, bedpan, urinal and privacy curtain. Sink with running water, soap and paper towels. Restroom in the lab or within 25 feet. Supplies include a mechanical lift, calibrated scale, wheelchair, manikin, BP cuffs, stethoscopes and transfer belt. 1 mock resident unit per 6 students; 6 linen sets per bed Moving the lab needs PDE approval; allow 30 days for changes. : whether the same checklist applies to new programs.
Missouri 19 CSR 30-84.010(9) Sufficient space, equipment and teaching aids for the maximum number of students. High schools need a practice classroom with health care equipment. No numeric ratio for high schools DHSS inspection within two years, then every two years
Hawaii HAR 17-1444 Non-facility programs use a lab that simulates a nursing facility. No equipment list. None DHS on-site review before certification; unannounced visits allowed

What the ratios mean for a cohort of 20

The two states with numeric ratios produce very different labs. Under North Carolina’s list, 20 students need 2 beds and 2 full-body manikins. Under Pennsylvania’s checklist, 20 students need 4 complete mock resident units (20 divided by 6, rounded up), each with its own bed and furniture. Check your state’s rule before you size the room.

Typical equipment

These items appear across the Arizona rule, the North Carolina list, the Pennsylvania checklist and Arizona’s CTE equipment list. Use them as a starting list, then adjust to your state’s requirements and your cohort size.

  • Resident unit: adjustable hospital bed with side rails, cleanable mattress, overbed table, bedside cabinet or nightstand, chair, call light, privacy curtain
  • Manikins: full-body adult manikin; Arizona names a manikin for perineal care
  • Mobility and transfer: wheelchair with footrests, walker, gait or transfer belts, mechanical lift (optional in North Carolina, listed in Pennsylvania)
  • Vital signs: manual BP cuffs (adult and large adult), stethoscopes, electronic thermometers, calibrated standing scale with height bar, wall clock with a second hand
  • Hygiene and elimination: wash and emesis basins, bedpans, urinals, bedside commode, briefs
  • Infection control: sink with running water, soap, paper towels, hand sanitizer, gloves in several sizes, gowns, masks
  • Linens and clothing: sheets, pillows, bath blankets, towels, washcloths, resident clothing for dressing practice
  • Feeding: meal tray, adaptive utensils, intake and output measuring containers

Arizona’s CTE office publishes a Nursing Services equipment list (October 2025), labeled as recommended guidance. Idaho’s CTE CNA list, an out-of-state example, marks the items needed for testable skills and suggests three ways to lower cost: donations from local health agencies, rotating students through stations, and sharing a lab with another program.

Space

None of the seven states’ nurse aide rules sets a square footage. North Carolina’s school facilities guidelines suggest 2,000 to 2,500 sq ft for a health occupations room, and describe that figure as a recommended minimum, not a standard. North Carolina’s nurse aide application asks for a lab of at least 100 sq ft for one bed.

The sink

North Carolina and Pennsylvania both require a sink with running water, and Arizona’s CTE list names one. A sink is the item most likely to need plumbing work, and plumbing work is the part grants rarely pay for. If your room has no sink, price it first.

Worked example: the electrical lab

No state among the seven sets a binding equipment list or facility standard for a high school electrical lab. What shapes the lab instead is the credential you teach to (usually NCCER Electrical), the state’s advisory facility guidelines where they exist, and safety practice.

What the states publish

State What exists Status
Arizona The Electrical and Power Transmission Installation program page shows the equipment list as “Not Available.” ADE’s general CTE equipment guidelines put any infrastructure changes (electrical wiring, telecom wiring, ducts or venting) on the grant recipient.
Virginia The Electricity I course page has no equipment list. It marks OSHA compliance as required and has students earn OSHA-10 Construction.
North Carolina Advisory facility guidelines suggest 1,600 to 2,000 sq ft for welding and electrical trades (1,800 to 2,800 desirable), with 12 ft ceilings up to 2,000 sq ft and 14 ft above. The Electrical Trades I Honors course caps enrollment at 20. (advisory)
Michigan, Pennsylvania, Missouri, Hawaii No state electrical equipment list or facility standard found.

What NCCER asks for

NCCER’s accreditation guidelines ask sponsors to submit photos of the finished space and equipment where tests and hands-on performance profiles will be given. They set no square footage or fixed lab specification. NCCER posts equipment and material lists under Program Resources on its website. The Electrical Level 1 performance profiles show what the lab must support: safety for electricians, mounting device boxes, hand bending, and wireways, raceways and fittings.

Typical items

This list follows the tasks in the NCCER Level 1 performance profiles. : check it against NCCER’s own equipment list before you buy.

  • Wiring booths or bays (stud-wall stations for rough-in and trim-out)
  • Hand conduit benders and a conduit cutting and reaming station
  • Practice panelboards and load centers, device boxes, raceway and fittings stock
  • Wire, devices (receptacles, switches, GFCI and AFCI devices), strippers and hand-tool sets
  • Multimeters and voltage testers
  • Motor-control or low-voltage trainers
  • PPE: safety glasses, gloves, hard hats where overhead work is simulated
  • Lockout/tagout kits

Space and power

Lay out the room around the wiring bays and a storage area for conduit and wire stock, and size it to your cohort. If students will work on energized trainers or panels, plan the power distribution for the lab with your facilities staff. That work is infrastructure, and most equipment funds will not pay for it.

Safety and inspections

Who OSHA covers in a school lab

Federal OSHA does not cover state and local government employees. Public school staff are covered only where the state runs an OSHA-approved State Plan that includes public employees.

State Public school staff covered? Program Status
Michigan Yes MIOSHA
Virginia Yes VOSH
North Carolina Yes OSHNC
Arizona Yes ADOSH
Hawaii Yes HIOSH
Pennsylvania No. Federal OSHA has no jurisdiction over public school employees. Bills to extend coverage have passed the House and stalled. None : confirm the status of the 2025-26 bill (HB 308)
Missouri No. Federal OSHA has no jurisdiction over public school employees. None

OSHA standards protect employees, not students. OSHA said so directly in a 2007 letter about a Pennsylvania public school: students have no employment relationship with the school. That does not make OSHA practice optional in your lab. Host employers apply their own controls, your students will be employees soon, and programs such as Virginia’s Electricity I have students earn OSHA-10. Teach and run the lab as if the standards applied.

Practices to build into the room

  • Lockout/tagout (electrical). 29 CFR 1910.147 requires written energy-control procedures, training, and standardized lockout devices that identify who applied them. Model this in any lab with energized trainers or panels.
  • Eyewash. Where eyes or body may be exposed to corrosive materials, 29 CFR 1910.151(c) requires quick-drench or flushing facilities in the work area. In a nurse aide lab, this applies if you use corrosive disinfectants. In an electrical lab, it matters where battery or chemical work happens.
  • Eye protection. North Carolina law (G.S. 115C-166 to -169, as cited in DPI’s CTE guide) requires eye protection devices in certain courses. whether your state has a parallel statute.
  • GFCI protection and emergency shutoffs (electrical). Common in practice. The only published source found for emergency shutoffs is North Carolina’s facility guidelines, in the science lab section. what your state CTE office expects.
  • Infection control (nurse aide). A sink with running water, soap and paper towels, and PPE in several sizes. See the nurse aide section above.

Inspections tied to program approval

  • Arizona is the only state found that requires a fire inspection report for each nurse aide classroom and lab, at first use and after remodeling.
  • Virginia, Missouri and Hawaii inspect or visit the nurse aide site as part of approval. Michigan surveys before issuing the permit.
  • Pennsylvania requires PDE approval before a nurse aide lab moves.
  • Otherwise, labs fall under the building’s ordinary fire and building code inspections by local or state fire officials.

No standalone state CTE lab safety manual for health science or electrical was found for the seven states.

Paying for the lab

Equipment and facilities are funded differently, so treat them as two budget lines from the start.

Federal Perkins V

  • Equipment is allowed. Local Perkins funds may buy equipment, technology and instructional materials aligned with industry needs, including machinery, testing equipment, tools, hardware and software (Perkins V section 135). Construction and renovation are not listed as uses.
  • Supplement, not supplant. Perkins must add to, not replace, state and local CTE spending.
  • Prior approval for big items. Under the federal Uniform Guidance, equipment means items with a useful life over a year and a unit cost at or above the lower of your capitalization level or $10,000. Special-purpose equipment of $10,000 or more, and any capital improvement, needs prior written approval from your state.
  • Administration is shifting. The U.S. Department of Labor has handled day-to-day Perkins administration since a May 2025 interagency agreement; the U.S. Department of Education keeps statutory authority. The statute and Perkins V rules are unchanged. Changing: watch for new guidance.

State funds

All amounts and windows change every year. Treat these as a map of where to look, and confirm the current cycle.

State Fund Equipment Facilities or renovation Amount and window Status
Michigan Section 61v CTE Expansion Grant (competitive, 3 years) Yes: lab development and equipment for new programs No. MDE bars construction, renovation, and electrical or ventilation updates. Up to $400,000 per new program, local match required. Round 1 awarded April 2026 ($24.2M to 56 districts). Round 2 closed July 1, 2026. The FY2026-27 budget (signed July 21, 2026) shows $0 for 61v.
Michigan Section 61a(1) added cost Not stated Not stated $41.7M for 2025-26; covers up to 75% of added cost
Virginia CTE Equipment Grant Yes: equipment and improvements “Improvements” named; scope unclear $600,000 a year in $37,500 awards to 16 divisions
North Carolina PRC 014 CTE Program Support Yes: equipment, materials and supplies students use directly Not stated $10,000 base per LEA plus an ADM share
Arizona CTED funds Yes, as enhancement of CTE courses and related equipment and facilities CTEDs may issue bonds for facility construction Levy figures from a 2018 brief : current figures
Arizona CTE State Priority Grant Yes, under ADE equipment guidelines Recipient pays infrastructure changes Formula on enrollment and placements : amount and allowable uses
Pennsylvania Supplemental Equipment Grant Yes: items of $3,000 or more per unit, or a complete tool set No About $20M for 2026-27; formula, no match. Applications closed September 17, 2026.
Pennsylvania PDE CTE Competitive Equipment Grant Yes No; equipment only Up to $85,000 (2025-26); districts with eight or more approved programs and CTCs; equipment only; match waived in 2025-26 for 2025-26 (last checked Oct. 3, 2026); : recheck the current round
Missouri Vocational-Technical Education Enhancement Grant Yes: equipment of $5,000 or more at 75%; supplies of $200 to $4,999.99 at 50% Yes: modifications and renovations at 50%; no new construction FY26: up to $750,000 per applicant. Approved programs in high-demand occupations only. : FY27 dates
Hawaii Perkins V through the State CTE Office to HIDOE Yes, under Perkins rules Federal rules apply No state CTE equipment fund found

Three things to know before you apply

  1. Renovation money is scarce. Of the funds above, only Missouri’s Enhancement Grant clearly pays for facility renovation. Michigan’s 61v bars it, and Arizona puts infrastructure on the recipient. Plan to pay for a sink, power drops or ventilation from local capital funds or bonds.
  2. Thresholds differ. The line between equipment and supplies is $10,000 under federal rules (or your lower capitalization level), $5,000 in Missouri and in Arizona’s 2019 guidelines, and $3,000 in Pennsylvania. Check the threshold of the specific fund.
  3. Approval comes first. Missouri’s grant funds only approved programs, and Pennsylvania pays no vocational education funds before approval. File the CTE approval (Approvals toolkit) before you count on state equipment money.

Template: lab planning and cost worksheet

Work through this in order. The first part sets the size of the lab; the second prices it; the third matches each cost to a fund.

Part 1. Set the requirements

Question Your answer Where to find it
What is the maximum cohort in the lab at one time? Your schedule (Scheduling toolkit) and any state course cap
Does an outside regulator approve the room? Approvals toolkit
Does the state set ratios (students per bed, per instructor, per station)? State table in this toolkit
Is there a required or recommended equipment list? Which one governs? Regulator list first, then CTE office list, then credential provider list
Is a sink, ventilation, extra power or a fire inspection required? State table and your facilities staff
Does the credential provider need photos or a site check of the lab? NCCER or the relevant provider

Part 2. Price it

Item Required or recommended? Source list Quantity (from ratio and cohort) Unit cost (local quote) Total Equipment or infrastructure?

Get at least two local quotes for anything above your capitalization threshold. Ask local hospitals, long-term care facilities, contractors and the electrical union whether they donate or lend equipment; Idaho’s CNA list names donations, station rotation and sharing a lab as cost reducers.

Part 3. Match each cost to a fund

Cost line Equipment or infrastructure Candidate fund Threshold or match Window Prior approval needed?

Before you sign a purchase order

  • The CTE program approval is filed or granted.
  • The regulator (if any) has confirmed the lab meets its rule, or you have scheduled its site visit.
  • Your facilities staff has signed off on power, plumbing and ventilation.
  • Any item at or above $10,000, or your lower capitalization level, has state approval if Perkins pays for it.

Quick reference by pathway

One row per pathway. Each pathway guide has the full state-by-state detail; rows are added as new guides are completed.

Pathway The room Who sets the standard Infrastructure to check first Pathway guide
Nurse aide Skills lab with resident units (bed, curtain, call light), manikins, vital-signs and mobility equipment The nurse aide regulator; ratios in North Carolina (1 bed per 10 students) and Pennsylvania (1 unit per 6) Sink with running water; fire inspection in Arizona Nurse aide guide
Electrical Wiring bays, conduit benders, panelboards, meters, lockout/tagout kits No binding state standard; NCCER asks for photos of the space; North Carolina’s advisory size is 1,600 to 2,000 sq ft Power distribution for trainers and panels; storage for conduit and wire Electrical guide
EMT Skills lab with airway, trauma, patient-movement and assessment equipment The state EMS office, through course approval and inspection Storage for stretchers and bulky equipment; space for scenario practice EMT guide
Welding Welding booths, fume extraction, cutting stations, gas cylinder storage No binding state standard; OSHA 1910.252 and ANSI Z49.1 set the safety baseline; North Carolina advisory size 1,600 to 2,000 sq ft Ventilation (2,000 cfm per welder in small spaces, or 100 fpm local exhaust) and fire protection; separation from woodworking Welding guide
Construction / carpentry Woodworking shop with saws, framing and finish stations, material storage; optional build site No binding state standard; North Carolina guidelines separate woodworking from welding Dust collection, machine guarding, power for stationary tools; site access and storage for a house project Construction and carpentry guide
HVAC/R Working split and packaged systems, recovery machines, gauges and vacuum pumps, brazing stations, controls trainers No binding state standard Equipment for both R-410A and A2L refrigerants; brazing ventilation; refrigerant cylinder storage HVAC guide
Cybersecurity / networking Computer lab with routers, switches and virtual machines, or a cloud cyber range No state lab guidance found Isolation from the district network, with IT department sign-off Cybersecurity and networking guide
Programming / computer science Computer lab with development software No state standard Devices, licenses and testing fees rather than construction Programming and computer science guide
Automotive service technology Service bays with vehicle lifts, engine hoists, tire machines and wheel balancers ASE Education Foundation accreditation (voluntary): guards in place, eye protection, exhaust removal and ventilation Exhaust removal; paid students may use vehicle lifts but not engine hoists (HO 7); in Michigan, ask SOS whether a shop doing paid repairs must register () Automotive guide
Medical and dental assisting Clinical skills lab for vital signs, phlebotomy and EKG; dental operatory with an X-ray unit for dental tracks The state dental board sets who may expose radiographs; Virginia regulates dental course class size (8VAC20-120-150) X-ray equipment registration with the state radiation program (); sharps and bloodborne pathogen controls Medical and dental assisting guide
Cosmetology Salon floor with stations, shampoo bowls and a dispensary The cosmetology board licenses the school in every state but Virginia; Michigan requires a floor plan and LARA inspection Board school license before hours count; Arizona adds a $10,000 bond and inspection with no public school exemption; Hawaii has no high school licensure route Cosmetology guide
Agriculture Land lab, greenhouse, animal spaces and an ag mechanics shop No state facility standard found; for course-credit work, the school’s safety rules govern, not EPA’s Worker Protection Standard Pesticide storage and handling (paid handlers must be 18); forklifts in off-farm placements are HO 7 work Agriculture guide
Early childhood education Lab preschool classroom, or placements at licensed centers The child care licensing agency; school lab preschools are rarely exempt (narrow exemptions in VA, AZ, MO and HI; none in PA) A licensing determination before enrolling children (); fingerprint checks for students counted as staff Early childhood education guide
Culinary arts and hospitality Commercial teaching kitchen with ranges, mixers and slicers; dining room for a student restaurant The local or county health department; no state food code exempts teaching kitchens; Virginia regulates culinary lab class size (8VAC20-120-150) Health permit and plan review before a remodel or public service; a certified food protection manager where required; only countertop mixers of 5 quarts or less for paid minors, none in Hawaii Culinary arts and hospitality guide
Machining and mechatronics Manual and CNC mills and lathes, drill presses, grinders and saws; automation and robotics trainers No state approval or license; optional NIMS accreditation requires an OSHA-compliant facility Placement task lists by machine type: CNC machine tools are allowed, presses, press brakes and shears are HO 8, cranes and hoists are HO 7; Pennsylvania also bars grinders except for student-learners Machining and mechatronics guide
Engineering and drafting Computer lab with CAD software No second agency or state facility standard Software licenses; SOLIDWORKS provider status for CSWA testing; a Certiport Authorized Testing Center for ACU Engineering and drafting guide
Firefighting Skills space with PPE, SCBA and hose; live burns at a fire academy or regional training center The state fire training agency; NFPA 1400 (which absorbed NFPA 1403) for live fire A partnership with a fire academy or training center for burns; a state-credentialed instructor on site for live fire Firefighting guide
Law, public safety and corrections Classroom, with observation at agency sites No state facility standard; CJIS rules govern agency sites No live fire on campus; firearms handling under 18 needs written parental consent (18 U.S.C. 922(x)); students are escorted at dispatch, records and jails Law, public safety and corrections guide
Business management and marketing Computer lab; optional school store No state facility standard found A Certiport Authorized Testing Center for MOS; school store tax rules (see Entrepreneurship) Business management and marketing guide
Entrepreneurship Classroom plus a school store or school-based enterprise District board policy and state tax rules; no license or second agency Sales tax treatment (Michigan’s exemption is capped; Pennsylvania schools collect tax); Smart Snacks rules for food sold to students Entrepreneurship guide

Review status and sources

Last checked October 2, 2026. The Pennsylvania Competitive Equipment Grant row was checked against PDE’s 2025-26 guidelines on October 3, 2026. These items are open for reviewers:

  1. Priced lab costs. No published, priced nurse aide or construction electrician lab from the seven states was found. Possible sources: Michigan 61v award applications, Pennsylvania equipment grant applications, Arizona CTED budgets, Missouri Enhancement Grant awards.
  2. NCCER equipment lists. Use them to check the electrical item list above.
  3. Pennsylvania. Confirm the Report of Change checklist (1 unit per 6 students, restroom within 25 feet) applies to new programs, and whether a fire inspection is required. Confirm the status of HB 308.
  4. North Carolina. Confirm whether 10A NCAC 13O .0301 or 21 NCAC 36 .0405 add lab standards beyond the DHSR list. Find the current DPI CTE Equipment Guide. Confirm the eye protection statute text.
  5. Michigan. Open LEO’s sample nurse aide equipment list. Confirm whether 61v has any funding after round 2; the FY2026-27 budget shows $0.
  6. Virginia. Check the Electricity I curriculum for an equipment list.
  7. Arizona. Confirm the State Priority Grant amount and allowable uses, and current CTED levy figures.
  8. Missouri. Confirm FY27 Enhancement Grant dates and amounts.
  9. Hawaii. Confirm whether HIDOE has a state CTE equipment line and whether DHS uses an equipment checklist during site reviews.
  10. Electrical safety features. Find a state CTE source for GFCI, emergency shutoff and trainer expectations.

Sources

Nurse aide lab

Electrical lab

Safety

Funding

Checklist for this toolkit

Tick what your team has done or decided, then download it. Your ticks also count toward your plan if you start one.

done

Set the requirements

Before you sign a purchase order

See something out of date? Tell us.