New: pathway guides, toolkits and state profiles for seven states. Parts are still being confirmed with agencies and reviewers, and we update them as answers arrive. Learn more

Pathway guide

Automotive Service Technology Pathway Guide

In review Last checked

At a glance

This guide covers a high school automotive service technology pathway in Michigan, Virginia, North Carolina, Arizona, Pennsylvania, Missouri and Hawaii. It sets out the rules that differ by state. The how-to for staffing, partnerships, approvals, facilities, curriculum and scheduling sits in six implementation toolkits, linked in the launch steps at the end.

What the pathway leads to

Graduates work as entry-level technicians at dealerships, independent repair shops, tire and quick-service chains and fleets, or continue in a college automotive program or an apprenticeship. In high school, students can earn ASE Entry-Level certifications, EPA Section 609 certification for vehicle air conditioning, and shop safety credentials. Professional ASE certification requires paid work experience, but students can take the tests in high school and an accredited program counts toward the experience. Two of the seven states license individual mechanics: Michigan (certification by repair category, with a trainee permit) and Hawaii (a mechanic license, with helpers working under a licensed mechanic).

The decisions you face

  1. Whether to seek ASE Education Foundation accreditation. Accreditation is voluntary nationally and sets minimum hours (540 for Maintenance and Light Repair). Michigan titles its program “Automobile Technician (ASE Certified)” and expects programs to meet accreditation hours.
  2. Which student credentials to build toward. ASE Entry-Level tests are open to any program. Missouri counts them only as a three-test combination. Michigan’s state mechanic certification is a separate credential that schools can test for on site.
  3. Who teaches it. North Carolina requires automotive teachers to earn four ASE certifications within 6 months of hire and allows no provisional license. The other states use general industry routes.
  4. What students do in shops before 18. Vehicle lifts are allowed under current federal guidance; engine hoists, winches and tow-truck hoists are not. Public-road driving is barred at 16 and tightly limited at 17. Michigan co-op students who repair customer cars need a state trainee permit, and Hawaii helpers must work under a licensed mechanic.
  5. The lab. Lifts, exhaust extraction and hours for the ASE task list drive cost and schedule. Michigan’s 61v equipment grant has no money in the FY2026-27 budget.

Where the states differ most

Topic Range across the seven states
Individual mechanic license Michigan (certification by category, trainee permit) and Hawaii (license; helpers under a licensed mechanic); none found in the other five
Safety inspector license Age 17 in Missouri, where vocational instruction can replace work experience; 18 in Virginia, Pennsylvania and Hawaii; North Carolina states no age beyond a driver’s license
Teacher ASE certification Required in North Carolina within 6 months of hire; elsewhere required only for an accredited program
Projected job growth, 2024 to 2034 From 3.6% (Pennsylvania) to 14.4% (Arizona)
Statewide college credit Michigan agreements with specific colleges, several expiring; Pennsylvania SOAR; North Carolina high school to community college articulation; Hawaii Early College; none found in Virginia, Arizona or Missouri

Items are labeled Confirmed, Confirm with the agency, or Changing. Last checked October 3, 2026.

Jobs and pay

Automotive technician jobs are projected to grow in all seven states, from 3.6% in Pennsylvania to 14.4% in Arizona, against 4.2% nationally. Pennsylvania and North Carolina have the most jobs and openings; Virginia and Michigan pay the highest medians among the seven states.

Arizona leads projected growth in auto technician jobs, at more than three times the US rate

Projected change in automotive service technician and mechanic jobs (SOC 49-3023), 2024 to 2034

0%+5%+10%+15%Arizona+14.4%North Carolina+7.4%Michigan+5.3%Virginia+5.2%Hawaii+4.8%Missouri+3.9%Pennsylvania+3.6%US +4.2%0%+5%+10%+15%Arizona+14.4%North Carolina+7.4%Michigan+5.3%Virginia+5.2%Hawaii+4.8%Missouri+3.9%Pennsylvania+3.6%US +4.2%
Show the numbers
StateProjected change, 2024 to 2034
Arizona+14.4%
North Carolina+7.4%
Michigan+5.3%
Virginia+5.2%
Hawaii+4.8%
Missouri+3.9%
Pennsylvania+3.6%
United States+4.2%
State long-term projections via Projections Central, 2024-2034 · 7 states and US
State Median annual wage, May 2025 Jobs in 2024 Openings per year
Michigan $54,120 23,660 2,090
Virginia $59,330 21,070 1,930
North Carolina $48,200 29,230 2,670
Arizona $49,570 20,000 2,030
Pennsylvania $49,800 33,870 2,910
Missouri $49,160 18,720 1,620
Hawaii $52,160 3,430 300
United States 805,600 70,000

Wages are from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics state file (Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics, SOC 49-3023). Jobs and openings are from Projections Central. Check regional demand with local dealers, independent shops and fleets before you decide.

Credentials students can earn

ASE Entry-Level is the national student credential, and every state’s list that names automotive credentials includes an ASE option. Professional ASE certification and safety inspector licenses need work experience or adult age, so students prepare for them in high school and finish them after.

Credential How it works What a school needs Status
ASE Entry-Level Three series: Automobile (10 tests), Collision Repair and Refinishing (4), Medium/Heavy Truck (5). Online tests proctored at the school. No minimum age or work experience. Valid two years; not renewable. Any program can test, accredited or not. $40 per student per series per year for accredited programs, $45 for others, up to two attempts.
ASE professional certification A test plus 1 to 3 years of hands-on work, depending on the test. Tests can be taken before the experience is earned; ASE issues the certificate once it is. Completing an ASE-accredited program, or passing three or more Entry-Level tests, counts as 6 months toward a 1-year requirement or 1 year toward a 2- or 3-year requirement. A graduate still needs at least 6 months of paid work for a 1-year test.
EPA Section 609 (motor vehicle air conditioning) Required for anyone who services vehicle air conditioning for pay. No age requirement found. An EPA-approved 609 training and testing program, such as the ASE refrigerant recovery exam
Michigan mechanic certification State certification by repair category, required to repair vehicles for pay in Michigan. $18 per test from July 1, 2026. Separate from ASE; the state does not issue it on the basis of an ASE Entry-Level test. A school can become a Department of State test site (see Licensing and outside approvals).
Shop safety credentials S/P2 Automotive Service Safety and Pollution Prevention; Automotive Lift Institute “Lifting It Right: School Edition” Program subscriptions; recommended in North Carolina’s first course
NOCTI Automotive Technician End-of-program assessment (Core, plus Advanced in Missouri) NOCTI test site arrangement

What each state counts

State Automotive credentials on the state list Status
Michigan One approved ASE area test meets the Perkins credential indicator (5S1); students get a second attempt, and credentials earned by August 31 count. Whether EPA 609, NC3 and OSHA-10 also count for 47.0604 in CTEIS was not confirmed. : ASE. : other credentials.
Virginia The 2025-2026 Board-approved list names ASE Certification Examinations (any one), ASE Entry-Level (any one), the ASE high-voltage (xEV) exam and the ASE refrigerant recovery (EPA 609) exam, all high demand, plus NOCTI Automotive Technician-Core. The Automotive Technology I framework also lists the Virginia Official Safety Inspector Class A exam.
North Carolina Automotive Service Fundamentals (IT11) recommends S/P2 Automotive Service Safety, S/P2 Pollution Prevention and Lifting It Right: School Edition. Automotive Service I (IT16) lists none. The state pathway page promotes ASE Entry-Level. . : credentials for IT17 and IT18.
Arizona 2026-27 list (updated September 8, 2026) for 47.0604.00: ASE Student Certifications (A1 to A8, G1), EPA 609, NC3 certifications and Snap-on ADAS/TPMS, all on both the A-F and CTED lists, plus nine community college certificates
Pennsylvania NOCTI Automotive Technician (2575) is the end-of-program assessment on PDE’s CIP 47.0604 sheet (March 2020). The state task list prepares students for safety inspection, EPA 609 and emission inspection certification. : the current credential list and assessment
Missouri Class of 2029 and later (New System): ASE Student Certification, earned by passing Maintenance and Light Repair plus Electrical/Electronic Systems plus one more area. Classes of 2026 to 2028 may use the Previous System: Brakes, Suspension and Steering, Engine Performance and Electrical/Electronic Systems, or Maintenance and Light Repair plus specified areas. EPA 609, S/P2 and NC3 are not on the list for 47.0604.
Hawaii No state list found. ASE Entry-Level is available nationally.

In Missouri, a single ASE Entry-Level pass does not meet the industry credential requirement. Plan the test sequence so every concentrator can take the full three-test combination.

Working with minors

For the full federal and state rules, a task-by-task decision path and a student-learner agreement template, see Working with Minors in CTE Pathways. These rules govern paid and employer-directed placements. In-school lab work is not employment; district policy and insurance decide what students do in the school shop, including road tests.

Federal rules

The two federal hazardous occupations orders that matter most in an auto shop, HO 7 and HO 2, have no student-learner or apprentice exemption.

Federal rule What it covers in an auto shop Exemption?
HO 7, hoisting Engine hoists (cherry pickers), power winches, tow-truck hoists, forklifts. Vehicle lifts are not covered: 29 CFR 570.58 does not name them, and a 1988 DOL opinion letter (FLSA-620) treats service lifts as outside HO 7. No
HO 2, motor vehicles No outside-helper work. No public-road driving at 16. At 17, public-road driving only under every condition in 29 CFR 570.52(b). Moving customer cars on the shop’s private property is allowed at 16 and 17. No
HO 14, saws and cutting discs Abrasive cutting discs and power saws Yes
Ages 14 and 15 (Reg. 3) No work in pits, racks or lifting apparatus, including hydraulic lifts, service racks and hand jacks; no inflating tires on rims with a removable retaining ring Applies only under 16

Road tests by 17-year-olds: DOL has published no guidance on road testing since the 1998 driving rule. On the rule’s text, a public-road road test appears permitted only when every condition is met and documented: daylight, a vehicle of 6,000 pounds gross weight or less with seat belts, a valid license, completed state-approved driver education, no moving violations at hire, within 30 miles, and driving no more than one-third of the workday and 20% of the workweek. Confirm with the agency (U.S. DOL Wage and Hour Division). Until then, write “no public-road road tests” into training agreements unless the employer documents every condition.

State rules

State Rules that reach auto shop work by 16- and 17-year-olds What you file Status
Michigan All minors are barred from power-driven hoisting apparatus (R 408.6208(11)(a)); the definition matches the federal one and does not name vehicle lifts. Public-road driving is barred except a narrow incidental exception (R 408.6208(13)). Work under a written school-employer agreement is exempt from the state act (MCL 409.118); federal orders still apply. Youth work permit through LEO’s Youth Employment Permit Portal (from October 2, 2026); signed agreement on file at the worksite; mechanic trainee permit or certification for paid repair work . : the portal is new.
Virginia State rules mirror the federal orders (16VAC15-30). Written work-training agreement signed by employer and school coordinator, filed with DOLI, for otherwise prohibited work
North Carolina Welding and torch cutting are barred under 18 (13 NCAC 12 .0406), which reaches exhaust work. Exempt: registered apprentices, FLSA student-learners and students under an NCDOL-approved Supervised Practice agreement. Supervised Practice agreement approved by NCDOL before the start date (submit about 60 days ahead); youth employment certificate
Arizona Minors 17 and under may not operate or assist with power-driven hoists. Driving is capped at 2 hours a day or 25% of the workday and under 50 miles a day. Students in career or vocational programs are exempt from the state sections (A.R.S. 23-235); federal orders still apply. No state filing found
Pennsylvania Welding is barred for all minors (34 Pa. Code ch. 11), which reaches exhaust work, except apprentices, student-learners and graduates of an approved vocational program in the occupation. Work permit for every minor; 16- and 17-year-olds in school limited to 8 hours a day and 28 hours a school week
Missouri State restrictions reach only workers under 16 (RSMo ch. 294). Federal rules govern 16- and 17-year-olds. None found for 16- and 17-year-olds
Hawaii State driving rule tracks HO 2 (HAR 12-25-42). Student-learner exemptions require a DOE-approved cooperative program. Paid repair work also falls under the mechanic licensing law. Certificate of Age (eCL-3) online

The practical effect: keep students off engine hoists and winches everywhere, keep 16-year-olds off public roads, and in North Carolina and Pennsylvania put an approved arrangement in place before any exhaust welding or torch cutting at a job site.

Licensing and outside approvals

No second agency approves the school program in any of the seven states. Outside agencies matter in three ways: Michigan and Hawaii license the people who repair vehicles for pay, five states license safety inspectors, and the ASE Education Foundation accredits programs. No individual mechanic license was found in Virginia, North Carolina, Arizona, Pennsylvania or Missouri.

State Agency What it approves Ages and hours Status
Michigan Department of State, Business Licensing Mechanic certification by repair category. Anyone who repairs vehicles for pay must be certified in each category they work in. Repairs to your own or a family member’s vehicle are exempt. No minimum age in the act or on the agency’s pages. $18 per test from July 1, 2026; bring a state driver’s license or state ID.
Michigan Department of State, Business Licensing Mechanic trainee permit (MCL 257.1313). An uncertified person repairs under the direct supervision of a mechanic certified in the same categories. A co-op student employed by a repair facility needs a trainee permit or category certification. $20; valid two years; not renewable, except a limited reissue for Engine Tune-up/Performance, Electrical Systems or Brakes. The act lists students in an MDE-approved vocational program that includes employment by a repair facility among those who may have the fee waived (MCL 257.1330); ask Business Licensing how to request the waiver. No minimum age found. Apply through SOS e-Services or by mail. . : the student fee waiver process.
Michigan Department of State, Business Licensing School test site. The school signs a contract (Mechanic School Account Application) before the system is installed. Instructors may register students and stage exams but may not proctor their own students. Any number of students; $18 a test; Windows 10 Pro or 11 computers meeting state specifications; no installation cost. Contact Licensing@Michigan.gov.
Michigan Department of State, Business Licensing Repair facility registration for any facility that repairs vehicles for pay (MCL 257.1306); the act shows no school exemption. Separate, optional approval as a mechanic-training establishment (MCL 257.1313a). Applies if the school shop charges for customer repairs : whether a school shop must register
Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Motor Vehicle Repair Industry Board (HRS ch. 437B) Mechanic license, limited to certified specialties, for anyone who diagnoses or repairs vehicles for pay. Helpers and apprentice/trainees may work for pay under the direct supervision of a licensed mechanic. Up to five helpers or trainees per licensed mechanic. Certification: two years of full-time hands-on experience, or one year plus either three full years of high school automotive training or two years of trade, technical school, college or apprenticeship training; plus at least one ASE certification and the state certification tests. No minimum age or school exemption found.
Virginia Virginia State Police Safety inspector license (19VAC30-70-9) At least 18; Virginia driver’s license; one year as a mechanic, six months as a mechanic plus six months working alongside an inspector, or a State Police-approved automotive mechanics training program; written and practical exams
Pennsylvania PennDOT Safety inspector certification; PennDOT also approves the certification courses, which several career and technical centers run for adults At least 18; valid driver’s license; PennDOT-approved course and tests
Missouri Missouri State Highway Patrol Inspector/mechanic permit (11 CSR 50-2.080), used at a licensed inspection station At least 17. One year as a mechanic, or a course of vocational instruction in automotive mechanics from a recognized educational institution, or the Patrol’s field training; written and practical exams at 80%; valid three years. A 2026 bill to repeal inspections was stripped on May 15, 2026. . : whether a high school program counts as vocational instruction.
Hawaii Hawaii Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Safety Office Safety inspector certificate (HAR 19-133.2-12) At least 18; Hawaii driver’s license; one year of school training in automotive mechanics, or two years of work in automotive maintenance, repair or inspection; exams at 80% : an amendment is in process. .
North Carolina NC Division of Motor Vehicles Safety inspection mechanic license (G.S. 20-183.4; 19A NCAC 03D .0521) No age stated beyond a valid driver’s license; eight-hour community college course; written exam at 80%; eight more hours for emissions . : whether a 16- or 17-year-old is accepted.
All states ASE Education Foundation Program accreditation at three levels by minimum classroom and lab hours: Maintenance and Light Repair (MLR) 540, Automobile Service Technology (AST) 840, Master (MAST) 1,200. MLR instructors need ASE G1, A4, A5 and A6; AST and MAST instructors need G1, A6 and each area taught. Every instructor needs 20 hours of technical update training a year. Five-year term; renew at least six months before expiry. 2024 fees: $3,030 initial, $2,295 renewal. Self-evaluation, then an on-site evaluation (two days initial, one day renewal).

State views on accreditation:

  • Michigan. The state program is titled “Automobile Technician (ASE Certified),” and MDE’s FAQ says programs “must continue to meet the required hours for ASE accreditation.” The program approval section does not state accreditation as a condition. Confirm with the agency (MDE Office of Career and Technical Education).
  • Virginia. The course framework requires ASE Education Foundation accreditation and ASE-certified instructors for auto body programs. No requirement for automotive technology was found. Confirm with the agency (VDOE Trade and Industrial specialist).
  • Other states. No accreditation requirement found. North Carolina requires teacher ASE certification whether or not the program is accredited.

Students in Virginia, Pennsylvania and Hawaii can learn safety inspection content in high school but cannot be licensed before 18. In Missouri, a 17-year-old program completer may qualify for an inspector permit. In Virginia, ask the State Police whether your program can be approved as inspector training, so graduates can test at 18 without the year of work.

Who can teach

Every state lets an experienced technician teach on an industry-based route. North Carolina is the only state found that requires automotive teachers to hold ASE certifications, and it does not issue the license provisionally. For recruiting, pay and alternatives, see the Staffing toolkit.

State Credential for an industry hire Work experience Automotive-specific requirements Status
Michigan Annual Career Authorization, requested by the district, or CTE occupational certification for 47.0604 4,000 hours within the last 10 years No occupational license required to teach. ASE certification only if the program seeks accreditation.
Virginia Technical Professional License, or the Trade and Industrial endorsement License: a Virginia board license plus 2 years at journeyman level, a completed registered apprenticeship plus 2 years, or 4 years at management or supervisory level; 9 semester hours of professional studies (or a three-year job-embedded program). Endorsement: an approved bachelor’s program plus 2 years of full-time work in the last 5 years. The endorsement requires a current license or industry certification where applicable.
North Carolina License 74015, Trade and Industrial Education: Automotive Service. Excluded from provisional licensure. Bachelor’s plus 2 years, associate plus 4, or diploma or GED plus 6 years of work ASE A4, A5, A6 and G1 (or Master A1 to A8) within 6 months of hire (2025 licensure manual)
Arizona Standard CTE certificate, five options; Option C needs no degree 6,000 hours on Option C; 240 hours on Options A, B and D; five years on Option E No automotive or ASE requirement. All options need an IVP fingerprint clearance card.
Pennsylvania Career and Technical Instructional I, or the Career and Technical Experience-Based certificate (valid five years, not renewable; Act 47 of 2025) Instructional I: 8,000 hours, or 4,000 plus a bachelor’s (Act 55 of 2024) Pass the occupational competency assessment for automotive; 18 credits
Missouri Career Education Temporary Authorization Certificate Bachelor’s plus 4,000 hours, associate plus 5,000, or no degree plus 6,000, within 10 years None found
Hawaii CTE Permit 3 years of industry experience and a HIDOE recommendation Whether a teacher needs a Hawaii mechanic license was not found; the license applies to repairs for pay.

Instructor certifications worth funding

  • ASE G1, A4, A5 and A6. Required in North Carolina and for an MLR-accredited program anywhere. AST and MAST programs need G1, A6 and each area taught.
  • Annual update training. Accredited programs need 20 hours of industry technical training per instructor each year. Budget for it as a recurring cost.
  • Michigan mechanic certification. Certification in the categories the teacher covers, which are the categories students test for.
  • EPA Section 609. Required to service vehicle air conditioning for pay, and on the Virginia and Arizona student lists.

Program, curriculum and lab

An automotive program needs state CTE program approval like any other pathway, and every state offers it as a state-approved program. The Approvals toolkit lists each state’s process and deadlines.

Program codes by state

State State program Status
Michigan Automobile Technician (ASE Certified), 47.0604. Related programs: 47.0603 collision, 47.0613 medium/heavy truck, 47.0606 small engine.
Virginia Automotive Technology I and II, MLR two-year program (8506 and 8507; 8506 is 280 hours, 2 credits, grades 10 and 11); MLR three-year program (8501 and 8502); Automotive Technology III (8508); Automotive Fixed Operations (8755). SCED 20104; no CIP code shown.
North Carolina Automotive Service pathway, Supply Chain and Transportation cluster, 2026-27: Automotive Service Fundamentals (IT11), Automotive Service I (IT16), Automotive Service II Honors (IT17, concentrator), Automotive Service III Honors (IT18), then work-based learning courses (WA14, WP14, WO14, WI14, WE14, WS14) . : IT11 and IT16 are pilot courses.
Arizona Automotive Technologies, 47.0604.00. Technical standards validated December 19, 2024; the Technical Skills Assessment starts in 2025-26.
Pennsylvania Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician, 47.0604 (Program of Study 10), task list for graduation years 2025 to 2027. 106 approved secondary partners as of May 2025.
Missouri Automotive Service Technology, 47.0604, Skilled Technical Sciences, approved through DESE’s career education program application
Hawaii Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair program, Transportation Services pathway: Automotive Technology 1 (TIU5410) and 2 (TIN5419), 1.0 credit each : current program codes

The lab

The ASE Education Foundation’s standards set the baseline for an automotive lab whether or not you seek accreditation:

  • Safety. Guards and shields in place and used, eye protection for everyone in the lab, and vehicle exhaust removal and ventilation.
  • Lifts and hoists. Train students on lifts before use (the Automotive Lift Institute school course is a North Carolina-recommended credential). Engine hoists are HO 7 equipment for paid placements.
  • Hours. An MLR program needs at least 540 hours of combined classroom and lab time, which shapes the schedule and the number of bays.
  • Testing. ASE Entry-Level tests run online at the school. A Michigan Department of State test site needs Windows 10 Pro or 11 computers and a proctor who is not the students’ teacher.

Perkins funds may buy equipment but not construction or renovation. State equipment funds differ:

State Equipment funding Facility work
Michigan 61v CTE Expansion Grant: round 2 closed July 1, 2026, and the FY2026-27 budget shows $0 for 61v 61v barred renovation and electrical or ventilation work
Pennsylvania Supplemental Equipment Grant (2026-27 applications closed September 17, 2026); CTE Competitive Equipment Grant (up to $85,000 in 2025-26 for districts with eight or more approved CTE programs and CTCs, equipment only; the local match was waived for 2025-26) Not stated
Missouri Vocational-Technical Education Enhancement Grant: equipment reimbursed at 75% Renovation reimbursed at 50%; no new construction
Virginia CTE Equipment Grant: $37,500 awards to 16 divisions a year Improvements named; scope unclear
Arizona CTED funds, which must enhance, not supplant CTEDs may issue Class B bonds for facilities
North Carolina and Hawaii Perkins Federal rules apply

If the school shop will do paid customer repairs in Michigan, ask the Department of State whether the shop must register as a repair facility. The Facilities toolkit covers layout and equipment.

Curriculum

The ASE Education Foundation task lists (MLR, AST, MAST) are the common base. Virginia’s MLR courses are aligned with the 2024 MLR standards, Pennsylvania publishes its own task list, and Michigan’s Delta College agreement requires proficiency in all eight MLR areas. Choose the task list level that fits your hours, and check that it covers the state program standards. The Curriculum toolkit has a review rubric.

Credit after high school

State College credit Status
Michigan Statewide agreements through MDE with specific colleges. Delta College: up to 23 credits; requires a C (2.0) in CTE courses, 540 or more program hours, proficiency in all eight ASE Entry-Level MLR areas and an 80-hour internship; credit valid 27 months; expires June 30, 2027. Northern Michigan University: up to 10 credits (AUT 110, 140, 150, 170); B or better; apply within two years; no tuition for articulated credit; expires January 1, 2028. Mott Community College: 4 to 8 credits for Michigan mechanic certification in Brakes and Electrical Systems; apply within three years; expires November 1, 2026. Baker College: expired July 31, 2026, as posted. (Delta, NMU). : Mott renewal; Baker renewal.
Virginia No statewide agreement found (VCCS)
North Carolina Statewide high school to community college articulation requires a B or better and 93 or higher on the state post-assessment. Example: Central Piedmont awards TRN 111, TRN 112 and AUT 113 with the MLR task list completed. Career and College Promise offers CTE dual enrollment pathways. (Central Piedmont). : articulation for the 2026-27 course sequence.
Arizona Nine community college certificates are on the state credential list (Glendale, Eastern Arizona, Yavapai, Pima, Mohave). No statewide articulation found; dual enrollment by college agreement. : credential list. Confirm locally.
Pennsylvania SOAR statewide articulation: a 2.75 GPA in technical courses, a completed task list and a Competent or Advanced end-of-program score; credits used within 16 months of graduation. The college credit list for Program of Study 10 was not reached. : the SOAR credit list
Missouri No statewide agreement found. The A+ Scholarship applies generally. Confirm locally
Hawaii Early College and Running Start are statewide dual-credit routes. Example: Kealakehe High School’s Early College Automotive Mechanics Technology cohort earns up to 36 Hawai’i Community College credits toward an associate degree over two years. Honolulu Community College’s Summer CTE Academy includes automotive technology.

Check MDE’s posting before citing any Michigan agreement; all four automotive agreements found have lapsed or expire by January 2028.

Apprenticeship and work experience

Graduates enter dealer and manufacturer technician programs, registered apprenticeships and paid entry-level jobs. Michigan and federal standards let apprentices start at 16. Hawaii lets apprentice/trainees work for pay under a licensed mechanic. For professional ASE certification, a manufacturer co-op counts 1 to 2 years toward the work requirement, and an accredited high school program or three Entry-Level passes counts 6 months to 1 year. Ask local dealer groups and fleet employers what they credit from high school.

Academic credit

An automotive course that replaces a core academic credit may meet graduation requirements but may not meet the course requirements state universities use for admission. Before awarding academic credit for automotive work, confirm that every student still has the math, science and English courses required for university admission in your state. The Curriculum toolkit covers replacement and integration options.

  • Michigan. No state crosswalk from 47.0604 to Michigan Merit Curriculum credits was found. Use the S4IS CTE Crosswalk prototype (Product A) as interim guidance for integrating academic content.
  • Missouri. The DESE graduation handbook names two local options: waive one academic unit after a three-unit program of study, or substitute an LEA-approved CTE course for one core unit. Confirm with the agency (DESE).
  • North Carolina. IT17 and IT18 are honors courses. Confirm locally how your district weights them in the GPA.

Launch steps

Work through these steps in order; several can run at the same time. The launch guide sets out the full launch sequence.

Step What to do Toolkit
1. Confirm regional demand Check projected growth for your state and talk with local dealers, independent shops, tire and quick-service chains and fleets about hiring. Scheduling and student timing toolkit
2. Form the advisory committee Include dealer service managers, independent shop owners, a fleet employer and a college automotive program. Ask which ASE areas and state certifications they hire on. Clinical and work-based learning partnerships toolkit
3. Decide on ASE accreditation Choose MLR, AST or MAST and plan the hours and instructor certifications. In Michigan, ask MDE whether accreditation is a condition of 47.0604. Approvals and applications toolkit
4. File CTE program approval Use your state’s process and deadline; confirm the credentials you plan are on the state list. Approvals and applications toolkit
5. Hire the instructor Use the state’s industry route. In North Carolina, the teacher needs ASE A4, A5, A6 and G1 within 6 months of hire. Fund ASE certifications and 20 update hours a year if you seek accreditation. Staffing toolkit
6. Build the lab Lifts, exhaust extraction, eye protection and testing computers. In Michigan, do not plan on 61v money for FY2026-27. Facilities and equipment toolkit
7. Set up testing Register for ASE Entry-Level. In Michigan, apply for a Department of State school test site and name a proctor who is not the teacher. In Missouri, schedule the full three-test ASE combination. Curriculum toolkit
8. Arrange shop placements Training agreements that bar engine hoists, winches and tow-truck hoists and public-road driving at 16, and that address road tests at 17. Michigan: trainee permit or certification for paid repairs, plus YEPP work permits. Hawaii: supervision by a licensed mechanic. North Carolina and Pennsylvania: an approved arrangement before any exhaust welding or torch cutting. Clinical and work-based learning partnerships toolkit
9. Get credit agreements in writing College articulation and dealer or apprenticeship credit, before recruiting. In Michigan, check expiration dates first. Curriculum toolkit

Review status and sources

Last checked October 5, 2026. An independent check on October 5, 2026 tested 16 claims against official sources and corrected 3. These items are open for reviewers:

  1. Federal. Whether road testing customer vehicles counts as occasional and incidental driving for a 17-year-old under 29 CFR 570.52(b); the exact wording of Field Operations Handbook 33h07 on vehicle lifts. Ask the U.S. DOL Wage and Hour Division.
  2. Michigan, Department of State. Whether a school shop doing paid customer repairs must register as a repair facility (MCL 257.1306). Ask Business Licensing.
  3. Michigan, MDE. Whether ASE accreditation is a condition of 47.0604 approval; whether EPA 609, NC3 and OSHA-10 count as 47.0604 credentials in CTEIS; renewal of the Baker and Mott agreements. Ask the Office of Career and Technical Education.
  4. Virginia. Whether any accreditation requirement applies to automotive technology; the CIP crosswalk for course 8506. Ask the VDOE Trade and Industrial specialist. Statewide articulation: ask VCCS.
  5. North Carolina. Whether a 16- or 17-year-old with a driver’s license is accepted for a safety inspection mechanic license (ask NCDMV License and Theft); credentials and articulation for IT17 and IT18 (ask NC DPI CTE).
  6. Pennsylvania. The current approved credential list and end-of-program assessment for 47.0604; the SOAR credit list for Program of Study 10. Ask PDE.
  7. Missouri. Whether a high school automotive program counts as vocational instruction for the 17-year-old inspector permit; no change to the inspection program after the 2026 session. Ask the Highway Patrol Motor Vehicle Inspection Division.
  8. Hawaii. Current program codes and any credential list (ask HIDOE CTE); whether paid student placements need helper or trainee status (ask DCCA); the adopted text of HAR 19-133.2-12 (ask the HDOT Motor Vehicle Safety Office).

Sources

Jobs and pay

  • BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025 (state file), and Projections Central long-term projections, 2024-2034

Credentials and accreditation

Working with minors

Licensing

Instructors

Program, lab and credit

See something out of date? Tell us.