New: pathway guides, toolkits and state profiles for seven states. Parts are still being confirmed with agencies and reviewers, and we update them as answers arrive. Learn more

Pathway guide

Medical and Dental Assisting Pathway Guide

In review Last checked

At a glance

This guide covers a high school pathway in medical assisting (CIP 51.0801) and dental assisting (CIP 51.0601) in Michigan, Virginia, North Carolina, Arizona, Pennsylvania, Missouri and Hawaii. You can run one track or both. The guide sets out the rules that differ by state. The how-to for staffing, partnerships, approvals, facilities, curriculum and scheduling sits in six implementation toolkits, linked in the launch steps at the end.

What the pathway leads to

None of the seven states licenses medical assistants. Arizona is the exception that matters: its Medical Board sets the training a medical assistant must have before a physician can employ them, and for a high school completer that means passing an accredited national certification exam. Entry-level dental assistants are not licensed either, but each state’s dental board decides which duties they may perform, and in most of the seven states a dental assistant must pass a course or exam before taking X-rays.

In high school, students can earn national credentials: the NHA Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA), phlebotomy (CPT) and EKG (CET) certifications, and for dental assisting the DANB Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) exam or the DANB National Entry Level Dental Assistant (NELDA) credential. Registered and expanded-function dental assistant roles come after high school in every state checked. Graduates go to work in clinics and dental offices, to an accredited college program, or on to nursing and other health programs.

The decisions you face

  1. Medical, dental, or both. Medical assisting has a state course or program in Virginia, North Carolina (pilot), Arizona, Pennsylvania and Missouri. Dental assisting has one in Virginia (new), Arizona and Pennsylvania. Michigan runs both as tracks inside Health Sciences (51.0000).
  2. Which credential, and when students test. The national medical assisting credentials require a high school diploma, not a minimum age. NHA lets students test up to 12 months before graduation under a provisional certificate that they must convert after graduating.
  3. Clinical partners for live-patient skills. The phlebotomy credential needs 30 live venipunctures and 10 capillary sticks, and the EKG credential needs 10 live EKGs. Your clinical partner has to let minors perform them.
  4. Whether students take dental X-rays on patients. Four states require an exam or credential before an assistant exposes radiographs, Michigan requires a course, and Missouri and Hawaii require neither.
  5. Who teaches. Medical and dental assistants hold national certifications rather than state licenses, so confirm that your state’s health teaching credential accepts them before you recruit.

Where the states differ most

Topic Range across the seven states
State program Medical: state course or program in Virginia, North Carolina (pilot), Arizona, Pennsylvania and Missouri; a track in Michigan; none in Hawaii. Dental: Virginia, Arizona and Pennsylvania; a track in Michigan; none in North Carolina or Hawaii; Missouri unconfirmed
Outside rule for medical assistant work Arizona requires an accredited certification exam before employment; no such rule found elsewhere
Dental X-rays by assistants Exam or credential first in Virginia, Pennsylvania, Arizona and North Carolina; a course in Michigan; nothing required in Missouri and Hawaii
Projected job growth, 2024 to 2034 Medical assistants from 10.5% (Pennsylvania) to 24.0% (Arizona); dental assistants from 3.9% (Missouri) to 15.7% (Arizona)
Statewide college credit North Carolina Career and College Promise medical assisting pathways; Pennsylvania SOAR for medical assisting; Michigan’s only statewide Health Sciences agreement expires November 1, 2026

Items are labeled Confirmed, Confirm with the agency, or Changing. Last checked October 5, 2026.

Jobs and pay

Medical assistant jobs are projected to grow faster than the national rate in five of the seven states. Every state has more medical assistant openings than dental assistant openings, about twice as many in most. Dental assistants earn more than medical assistants in six of the seven states (Hawaii is the exception).

Arizona leads projected growth for both medical (+24.0%) and dental (+15.7%) assistants

Projected change in jobs, 2024 to 2034: medical assistants (SOC 31-9092) and dental assistants (SOC 31-9091)

Medical assistantsDental assistants0%+5%+10%+15%+20%+25%Arizona+24.0%+15.7%North Carolina+15.9%+8.6%Hawaii+13.8%+5.7%Michigan+13.0%+4.8%Virginia+12.8%+6.0%Missouri+11.6%+3.9%Pennsylvania+10.5%+5.5%US, medical +12.5%US, dental +6.4%Medical assistantsDental assistants0%+10%+20%Arizona+24.0%+15.7%North Carolina+15.9%+8.6%Hawaii+13.8%+5.7%Michigan+13.0%+4.8%Virginia+12.8%+6.0%Missouri+11.6%+3.9%Pennsylvania+10.5%+5.5%US, medical +12.5%US, dental +6.4%
Show the numbers
StateMedical assistantsDental assistants
Arizona+24.0%+15.7%
North Carolina+15.9%+8.6%
Hawaii+13.8%+5.7%
Michigan+13.0%+4.8%
Virginia+12.8%+6.0%
Missouri+11.6%+3.9%
Pennsylvania+10.5%+5.5%
United States+12.5%+6.4%
State long-term projections via Projections Central, 2024-2034 · 7 states and US

Medical assistants

State Median annual wage, May 2025 Jobs in 2024 Openings per year
Michigan $39,870 24,010 3,350
Virginia $44,740 16,090 2,380
North Carolina $45,140 24,300 3,500
Arizona $45,940 23,990 3,760
Pennsylvania $43,920 26,680 3,610
Missouri $40,440 12,880 1,760
Hawaii $48,410 3,860 540
United States 811,000 112,300

Dental assistants

State Median annual wage, May 2025 Jobs in 2024 Openings per year
Michigan $48,820 11,880 1,620
Virginia $46,670 11,160 1,640
North Carolina $50,380 11,340 1,610
Arizona $49,000 7,610 1,170
Pennsylvania $47,930 12,420 1,700
Missouri $45,970 7,020 940
Hawaii $44,720 1,650 230
United States 381,900 52,900

Wages are from the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics state file (Medical Assistants, SOC 31-9092; Dental Assistants, SOC 31-9091). Jobs and openings are from Projections Central. Check regional demand with local clinics, health systems and dental offices before you decide which track to run.

Credentials students can earn

No national medical assisting or dental assisting certifier states a minimum age. The gate for medical assisting credentials is the high school diploma, and the gate for the phlebotomy and EKG credentials is live-patient practice.

Credential How it works What a school needs Status
NHA Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) Requires a high school diploma or equivalent plus a training program or work experience. High school students can test up to 12 months before graduation and receive a provisional certificate. It expires 12 months after the exam and cannot be renewed; to convert it, the graduate sends proof of graduation and training. A lapsed provisional certificate means retesting. NCCA-accredited. A training program; a plan to track each student’s conversion after graduation
NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician (CPT) Same diploma and provisional rules. Requires at least 30 venipunctures and 10 capillary sticks on live individuals, from an accredited or state-recognized program completed within 5 years. NCCA-accredited. A clinical partner that lets minors perform and sign off on the sticks
NHA Certified EKG Technician (CET) Same diploma and provisional rules. Requires at least 10 EKGs on live individuals. NCCA-accredited. A clinical partner or lab arrangement for live EKGs
AMT Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) Routes include a 720-hour accredited program with 160 externship hours, or a competency route of 500 or more hours of a structured course with 160 externship hours, a competency checklist and CPR. No age stated. AMT shows the NCCA mark. AMT approval of the program; whether a high school program qualifies is not stated : routes. Confirm with AMT: high school eligibility
AAMA Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) Open only to students and graduates of CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited programs and some postsecondary or apprenticeship routes. Not available to high school students
NCCT National Certified Medical Assistant (NCMA) NCCA-accredited. Eligibility was not checked. Not on Arizona’s 2026-27 list. Confirm with NCCT
DANB Radiation Health and Safety (RHS) A standalone DANB exam, named in the radiography rules of Pennsylvania, Arizona and Virginia. A secondary source states there are no eligibility prerequisites. A radiography unit in your sequence Confirm with DANB: eligibility and any minimum age
DANB National Entry Level Dental Assistant (NELDA) Three exams: RHS, Infection Control (ICE) and Anatomy, Morphology and Physiology (AMP). Pathway III is for a “DANB-accepted dental assisting program located within a high school.” Every pathway requires current hands-on CPR, BLS or ACLS. No age stated. DANB acceptance of your program (the process is not published; DANB, 800-367-3262) : pathway. Confirm with DANB: acceptance process
DANB Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) Requires a CODA-accredited program or 3,500 hours of work experience, plus CPR. Not reachable in high school unless your program is CODA-accredited
BLS, bloodborne pathogens and HIPAA training Short certificates that clinical sites often require and that Arizona counts An authorized BLS provider

The CCMA is the credential most often listed by the states that publish a list. NELDA is the national dental credential written for high school programs, but no state checked lists it.

What each state counts

State Medical assisting Dental assisting Status
Michigan The CTEIS credential list for Health Sciences (51.0000) was not checked. No state medical assistant credential. DANB NELDA (if DANB accepts the program) and RHS. The state Registered Dental Assistant license requires a program meeting CODA standards. : the CTEIS list
Virginia Medical Assistant course pages list CCMA, CPT, RMA, CET, CMAA, NCMOA and Workplace Readiness Skills. Dental Careers pages list DANB NELDA and the AMT Registered Dental Assistant exam.
North Carolina CCMA is the Proof of Learning for HU45 and HU46. Students must be at least 16 to enroll and graduate within 365 days of course completion; the instructor submits graduation verification to NHA. No phlebotomy or EKG credential is listed for these courses. None; no state dental course.
Arizona 2026-27 list for 51.0801.00: CCMA, RMA, CPT, CET, AMT Registered Phlebotomy Technician, BLS, Bloodborne Pathogens and HIPAA. NCMA is not listed. 2026-27 list for 51.0600.00: DANB RHS, Arizona Coronal Polishing Certificate, BLS, Bloodborne Pathogens and HIPAA. NELDA and CDA are not listed. . : the list updates yearly
Pennsylvania NHA credentials under national rules; the PDE list was not checked. DANB NELDA and RHS. RHS is the Board-adopted radiography exam. : the PDE list
Missouri CCMA nationally; DESE’s industry-recognized credential list was not re-checked. DANB credentials; the Dental Board defines a certified dental assistant as DANB-certified. : the DESE list
Hawaii No medical assisting program of study. The Diagnostic Services program may list CCMA, CPT and CET; the program documents did not open. No state dental program.

Working with minors

For the full federal and state rules, a task-by-task decision path and a student-learner agreement template, see Working with Minors in CTE Pathways. For clinical affiliation agreements, HIPAA confidentiality, bloodborne pathogens coverage and host-site checklists, see the Clinical and Work-Based Learning Partnerships toolkit.

Federal rules

No federal hazardous occupations order covers ordinary medical or dental assisting tasks such as vital signs, specimen collection, EKGs or chairside assisting. Two orders reach work in clinics and dental offices, and neither has a student-learner exemption.

Federal rule What it covers here Exemption?
HO 6, ionizing radiation (29 CFR 570.57) Work by 16- and 17-year-old employees with exposure to ionizing radiation, including X-rays, above 0.5 rem a year No
HO 7, hoisting (29 CFR 570.58) Power-driven hoists, including patient lifts. Under 18, a student may only assist under DOL enforcement guidance (FAB 2011-3), which requires completed 75-hour nurse aide training No
OSHA bloodborne pathogens (29 CFR 1910.1030) Employees with occupational exposure: training and a hepatitis B vaccination offer at no cost. Unpaid students may fall outside it Not applicable
HIPAA (45 CFR 160.103, 164.501) A clinic or dental office may treat supervised unpaid trainees as workforce members; students sign confidentiality agreements. A business associate agreement is usually not the right tool Not applicable

HO 6 matters only for paid minors who expose dental radiographs, and only above 0.5 rem a year. It does not bar the work below that level. Ask the employer to document operator dose or radiation safety practice. Federal law sets no hour limits for 16- and 17-year-olds.

Two clauses to add to your clinical agreements:

  • Medical assisting: live-patient skill counts (venipunctures, capillary sticks, EKGs), whether minors may perform them, and who verifies them on the NHA attestation.
  • Dental assisting: whether students will expose radiographs, and the credential your state requires first (see Licensing and outside approvals). Sharps and saliva exposure is higher in dental assisting and phlebotomy, so name who provides hepatitis B vaccination or declination and post-exposure evaluation for unpaid students.

State rules

State Permit and hours for 16- and 17-year-olds Agreement route for paid placements Status
Michigan Youth work permit through LEO’s online portal (from October 2, 2026). 24 hours a week while school is in session A written school-employer agreement exempts the placement from the state act (MCL 409.118); federal rules still apply, and a signed copy must be on file at the worksite. Credit-bearing work-based learning needs a training agreement and plan (R 340.15) . : the portal is new
Virginia No permit and no state hour limits at 16 and 17 Work-training agreement signed by employer and school coordinator, filed with DOLI, for otherwise prohibited work
North Carolina Youth employment certificate for all under 18; no work 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. before a school day without parent and principal approval NCDOL Supervised Practice agreement for ages 16 and 17, approved by NCDOL before the start date (submit about 60 days ahead)
Arizona No permit; no state hour limits at 16 and 17 Students in career education programs are exempt from the state child labor list (A.R.S. 23-235); federal rules still apply
Pennsylvania Work permit for every minor; 8 hours a day and 28 hours a school week Cooperative education training agreement and training plan (PDE guidelines)
Missouri No permit and no state hour limits at 16 and 17 No state route; the federal student-learner rules govern
Hawaii Certificate of Age (eCL-3) online; no hour limits except during school hours Student-learner exemptions tied to a DOE-approved cooperative program

State dental board rules on radiography apply to students on top of these labor rules. They are in the next section.

Licensing and outside approvals

The state CTE agency approves the program. Three other kinds of body also shape it: the Arizona Medical Board for medical assisting in Arizona, each state’s dental board for dental assisting duties, and the national certification bodies (NHA, AMT, AAMA, NCCT and DANB) that decide who may sit their exams.

Medical assisting

Arizona does not license medical assistants, but A.R.S. 32-1456 lets a medical assistant take body fluid specimens and give injections under direct supervision of an MD, PA or NP, and directs the Arizona Medical Board to set training requirements. Under A.A.C. R4-16-401(A), before employing a medical assistant the supervising physician or PA must make sure the person completed one of three routes:

  1. A CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program.
  2. An unapproved training program and a passing score on a medical assistant exam from a certifying organization accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) or ANSI.
  3. A physician-designed program meeting A.R.S. 32-1456.

A high school or CTED program is route 2, so the national certification exam is what lets an Arizona completer work as a medical assistant. CCMA (NHA) and RMA (AMT) are NCCA-accredited and on ADE’s 2026-27 list. R4-16-402 limits procedures to the 2015 Core Curriculum under direct supervision. Using the title without meeting the rules is a class 3 misdemeanor. (, R4-16-401 as amended effective January 8, 2024)

In Michigan, a physician may delegate tasks to an unlicensed person under supervision, but not tasks that need the licensee’s own education, skill and judgment (MCL 333.16215). Delegation rules in the other five states were not checked.

Dental assisting

State Agency What it approves Ages and hours Status
Michigan LARA Board of Dentistry Duties of unlicensed dental assistants (R 338.11411, Table 1). An assistant may operate dental X-ray equipment under assignment only after a dental radiography course substantially equivalent to one in a Board-approved program. The Registered Dental Assistant license requires a program meeting CODA standards (R 338.11307) and Board-approved exams No age stated . : a Board work group was revising R 338.11411 in 2025
Virginia Board of Dentistry Who may place or expose dental radiographs (18VAC60-21-170): a radiation safety course and exam from an institution with a CODA-accredited program, ARRT certification, or DANB’s RHS Review Course plus the RHS exam. The certificate must be posted in view of patients. No student exemption in the rule or in Va. Code 54.1-2701 Dental Assistant II registration (18VAC60-30-120) needs a DANB CDA plus a competency program; post-high school
North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners Radiography by any assistant needs the CDA or a Board-recognized equivalency exam after 7 hours of instruction and 7 hours of clinical radiology (G.S. 90-29(c)(12)). Students may perform dental assisting functions only in a Board-approved course, supervised by a dentist teacher (G.S. 90-29(c)(10)) Dental Assistant II classification (21 NCAC 16H .0104) by CODA program, DANB CDA, or 3,000 hours plus courses; post-high school . : whether any high school course is Board-approved
Arizona State Board of Dental Examiners Radiography and coronal polishing each require a Board-approved exam (A.R.S. 32-1291), under general supervision. Secondary sources name the DANB RHS exam as the radiography route to the Arizona Radiologic Proficiency Certificate. The statute has no student provision No age stated : statute. : the named exam and whether students may expose radiographs or polish before passing
Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry Radiologic procedures by auxiliary personnel only after the Board-adopted exam, which is DANB RHS (since December 12, 2009), with the dentist on the premises (49 Pa. Code 33.302). No student exception stated EFDA requires a Board-approved program of at least 200 hours (33.102) and an exam (33.103); post-high school. The rules checked state no minimum age
Missouri Missouri Dental Board Duties barred to assistants (20 CSR 2110-2.120), including interpreting radiographs. No radiography credential is required. Expanded Functions permits need DANB CDA or the Missouri Test of Basic Dental Assisting Skills, plus Board-approved training and BLS No age stated . Amendment filed February 4, 2026, in effect since September 30, 2026; the proposal published March 16, 2026 sets standards for Board-approved nitrous oxide training courses for dental assistants
Hawaii DCCA Board of Dentistry Dental assistants may expose, process, mount and label radiographs under direct supervision (dentist on premises), with no required course (HAR 16-79-69.1). Polishing and ultrasonic instruments are prohibited (16-79-69.5). Hawaii does not license dental assistants No age stated

In Virginia, Pennsylvania, Arizona and North Carolina, build RHS (or the state’s equivalent) into the sequence before any student exposes radiographs on a patient. Expanded-function and registered dental assistant roles are post-high school in every state checked; present them as the next step after graduation.

Certification bodies

Body What it decides Status
NHA Eligibility and the provisional certificate for CCMA, CPT and CET; live-patient minimums
AMT Whether a high school program can be AMT-approved for the RMA competency route Confirm with AMT
AAMA CMA eligibility; closed to high school programs
DANB Which high school programs are “DANB-accepted” for NELDA Pathway III; RHS and ICE eligibility Confirm with DANB

X-ray equipment

A school dental lab with an X-ray unit likely needs registration with the state radiation control program. This was not checked in any state. Confirm with the agency before you buy equipment.

Who can teach

Every state has a health or industry-based teaching route. The open question in most states is whether a national certification such as CCMA, RMA or CDA counts where a rule asks for a professional license, because medical and dental assistants are not licensed. Nurses and other licensed clinicians qualify more easily. For recruiting, pay and alternatives, see the Staffing toolkit.

State Credential for an industry hire Experience Medical and dental assisting requirements Status
Michigan Annual Career Authorization, requested by the district, or standard CTE certification for Health Sciences (51.0000) 4,000 hours within the last 10 years No occupational license required for medical assisting content. Who may teach a dental radiography course that the Board would treat as substantially equivalent was not found . : dental radiography
Virginia Health and Medical Sciences endorsement (8VAC20-23-250), or the Technical Professional License Endorsement: bachelor’s degree plus a current license or certification as a professional practitioner. TPL: that license or certification, 2 years of occupational experience within 5 years, a health occupations certificate or associate degree, and 9 semester hours of professional studies An industry certification in the endorsement area is also required. Whether CCMA, RMA or CDA counts as certification as a professional practitioner is not stated : rule. Confirm with VDOE Licensure
North Carolina DPI license; the HU45 and HU46 pages list no licensure code The DPI health science area is 720 Health Science Education-RN, which is not eligible for provisional status Whether a non-RN can be licensed to teach HU45 and HU46 was not found. Patient-facing dental assisting functions by students must be supervised by a dentist acting as teacher (G.S. 90-29(c)(10)) Confirm with NC DPI Licensure
Arizona CTE Standard (SCTHC) or Standard Specialized (SSCTEHC) Health Careers certificate Per the certificate option A Cooperative Education Endorsement (CEN) is required for DCE and cooperative education courses, not internships. Whether a dental radiography instructor must hold the Arizona radiography certificate was not found : certificate. Confirm with ADE and the Dental Board: radiography
Pennsylvania Career and Technical Instructional I 8,000 hours, or 4,000 plus a bachelor’s Pass the occupational competency assessment for the area. No license required for dental assisting (inventory) : certificate. Confirm with PDE: dental
Missouri Career Education Temporary Authorization Certificate Bachelor’s plus 4,000 hours, associate plus 5,000, or no degree plus 6,000 within 10 years None found beyond the general certificate
Hawaii CTE Permit or Standard Limited License 3 years full-time in the field Industry certification where one exists. No state medical or dental assisting program : general route

Instructor certifications worth funding

A current CCMA (and CPT or CET if you teach those skills) lets the instructor model the credential students are working toward and, in Virginia, may meet the certification requirement once VDOE confirms. For dental assisting, an instructor who has passed DANB RHS, or who holds the CDA, matches the radiography credential that Virginia, Pennsylvania and Arizona name. BLS instructor status lets you certify students in-house. Confirm each choice with your state licensure office before you pay for it.

Program, curriculum and lab

Both tracks need state CTE program approval like any other pathway. Dental assisting can also need the dental board (North Carolina, for any student work on patients) or a call to the state CTE office before you start (Virginia). The Approvals toolkit lists each state’s process and deadlines.

Program codes by state

State Medical assisting Dental assisting Status
Michigan No standalone program. Run it as a track inside Health Sciences/Allied Health (51.0000) and document CCMA attainment, as career centers do now No standalone program; run it inside 51.0000. No Michigan high school example was found
Virginia Medical Assistant I (8345: grade 11, 280 hours, 2 credits; Introduction to Health and Medical Sciences recommended) and Medical Assistant II (8346: grade 12, 280 hours, 2 credits, with clinical experience) Dental Careers I (8328: grade 11, 280 hours, 2 credits) and Dental Careers II (8329: grade 12, 280 hours, 2 credits; dental radiology and coronal polishing; OSHA compliance required). Class size is regulated (8VAC20-120-150). Contact VDOE CTE before implementing . : Dental Careers I is listed as “coming soon”
North Carolina HU45 Medical Assisting and Non-Practicum Honors (1 credit, 135 to 150 hours, simulated clinical) and HU46 Medical Assisting and Practicum Honors (2 credits, 270 to 300 hours, supervised clinical practicum, maximum enrollment 16). Prerequisite: HU42 Health Science II or HP71 PLTW Human Body Systems No DPI dental course. Districts teach dental content inside Health Science courses without patient functions, or send students to postsecondary programs. To add patient work, seek State Board of Dental Examiners approval of the course under G.S. 90-29(c)(10) . : HU45 and HU46 are pilots for 2026-27
Arizona Medical Assisting Services, 51.0801.00 (2019 Technical Standards and a TSA): Medical Assisting Services I (51.0801.15) and II (51.0801.60), with optional III, IV, DCE, internship or cooperative education Dental Assisting, 51.0600.00 (2021 Technical Standards): Dental Assisting I (51.0600.10) and II (51.0600.20), with the same options. Students conduct dental radiographs
Pennsylvania 51.0801 (SOAR Program of Study 21) and 51.0899 (Program of Study 6) 51.0601, approved at a number of CTCs; not a SOAR Program of Study : PDE program lists
Missouri DESE Medical Assisting, 51.0801 No DESE dental program list found. Career centers run it locally (for example, Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center for high school and adult students). To formalize, ask DESE Health Science which code to report under : the MOSIS code and any dental code
Hawaii No program of study. The five Health Services programs are Diagnostic Services, Emergency Medical Services, Human Performance Therapeutic Services, Nursing Services and Public Health Services No program of study. No high school example was found

In Hawaii, schools reach medical assisting through the Diagnostic Services program, which may carry CCMA, CPT and CET (Confirm with HIDOE CTE), or through Kapiʻolani Community College’s CAAHEP-accredited program after graduation. To formalize a track, ask HIDOE CTE how to add medical or dental assisting content within the Health Services pathway. Dental assistants in Hawaii need no course to take radiographs, so a local program faces fewer outside rules.

The lab

A medical assisting lab is a clinical skills room: exam table, vital signs equipment, phlebotomy and EKG stations, sharps disposal and handwashing. Arizona publishes an equipment list for each program on its program page. A dental assisting lab adds dental chairs and, if students take radiographs, an X-ray unit with the shielding and registration your state’s radiation program requires (not checked in any state).

OSHA’s bloodborne pathogens standard covers your teacher as an employee in most of the seven states (see the Facilities toolkit). Plan sharps handling, exposure control and hepatitis B vaccination for the teacher, and set out who covers students in the clinical agreement.

Equipment funds rarely pay for plumbing or room changes. Michigan’s 61v grant bars renovation, Arizona puts infrastructure costs on the recipient, Pennsylvania’s Supplemental Equipment Grant covers items of $3,000 or more per unit, and Missouri’s Enhancement Grant pays 50% of renovation for approved programs. Check each fund’s current window and threshold.

Curriculum

Build the sequence to two targets: your state’s program standards and the test plan of the credential students will take (CCMA, CPT and CET for medical assisting; RHS and ICE, or NELDA, for dental assisting). Schedule the radiography unit and RHS exam before any patient radiography in the states that require it, and schedule credential testing within 12 months of graduation for NHA credentials. The Curriculum toolkit has a review rubric.

Credit after high school

State College credit Status
Michigan Mott Community College statewide agreement for Health Sciences (51.0000): Medical Terminology (AHLT 102, 1 credit) and CPR (HEAL 125, 1 credit), with a grade of 3.0 or better, used within 3 years of graduation. It includes no medical or dental assisting courses and expires November 1, 2026. No statewide dental assisting agreement found . : renewal
Virginia No statewide medical or dental assisting agreement checked Confirm locally
North Carolina Career and College Promise medical assisting pathways, for example Wake Tech’s Introduction to Medical Assisting (C45400HS) and Lenoir Community College’s Medical Assisting Skills Certificate (Lenoir notes it does not qualify students for the AAMA CMA). No dental assisting pathway found in the examples checked : examples. Confirm with NCCCS: the statewide list
Arizona CTED and community college agreements (A.R.S. 15-1821.01). ADE’s 2026-27 list counts community college certificates from Eastern Arizona, Mohave, Arizona Western and Yavapai (medical) and Eastern Arizona and Mohave (dental) as CTED eligible : list. Confirm with the CTEDs: specific agreements
Pennsylvania SOAR statewide articulation for 51.0801 and 51.0899; local agreements only for dental assisting Confirm with PDE
Missouri A+ Scholarship and the state dual credit scholarship; no medical or dental assisting articulation found Confirm locally
Hawaii Kapiʻolani Community College’s Medical Assisting AS and Certificate of Achievement are CAAHEP-accredited and selective-admission. The college pages list no early college or dual credit option Confirm with UHCC Early College

Apprenticeship

The AAMA’s Alternative Pathway to the CMA is open to apprenticeship completers, so a registered medical assistant apprenticeship after high school is one route to that credential. Ask local health systems whether they sponsor one and what they credit from high school training. No dental assisting apprenticeship was checked.

Academic credit

This guide found no state rule that lets a medical or dental assisting course replace a required academic course. If your district awards academic credit for course content (for example, anatomy and physiology as a science credit), confirm in writing that the substitution still meets your state university admission requirements before students rely on it; a CTE course counted in place of a required lab science can leave a student short for admission. North Carolina’s HU45 and HU46 are honors courses, which affects GPA weighting, not the academic courses universities require. In Michigan, where no crosswalk exists between Health Sciences content and Michigan Merit Curriculum requirements, use the S4IS CTE Crosswalk prototype (Product A) as interim guidance. The Curriculum toolkit covers the steps.

Launch steps

Work through these steps in order; several can run at the same time. The Pathway Launch Guide links all six toolkits.

Step What to do Toolkit
1. Confirm regional demand Check projected growth for each occupation and talk with clinics, health systems and dental offices about hiring. Decide on one track or both Scheduling and student timing toolkit
2. Form the advisory committee Include a physician practice or health system, a dentist, a community college allied health program and, for dental, someone who knows your state’s dental board rules Clinical and work-based learning partnerships toolkit
3. Check outside approvals Arizona medical assisting: plan for an NCCA-accredited exam. Dental: confirm your state’s radiography rule; in North Carolina, ask the Dental Board about course approval; in Virginia, contact VDOE CTE before implementing Approvals and applications toolkit
4. File CTE program approval Use your state’s process and deadline; in Michigan, run the track inside 51.0000; confirm the credentials are on the state list Approvals and applications toolkit
5. Hire the instructor Confirm with your licensure office that the candidate’s certification qualifies; in North Carolina, plan a dentist teacher for any student dental work on patients Staffing toolkit
6. Build the lab Clinical skills room, sharps and exposure control; for dental, chairs and any X-ray unit with state registration Facilities and equipment toolkit
7. Sign clinical agreements HIPAA confidentiality, bloodborne pathogens coverage, live-patient skill counts, and whether students expose radiographs; state labor filings for paid placements Clinical and work-based learning partnerships toolkit
8. Plan credential testing NHA provisional testing within 12 months of graduation and a conversion tracker; RHS before patient radiography where required; ask DANB about NELDA acceptance Curriculum toolkit
9. Get credit agreements in writing College articulation and dual enrollment before recruiting; in Michigan, check the Mott renewal after November 1, 2026 Curriculum toolkit

Review status and sources

Last checked October 5, 2026. An independent check on October 5, 2026 tested 16 claims against official sources and corrected 0. These items are open for reviewers:

  1. DANB. How a high school program becomes “DANB-accepted” for NELDA Pathway III; RHS and ICE eligibility and any minimum age from a primary source. Ask DANB (800-367-3262).
  2. AMT. Whether a high school medical assisting program can be AMT-approved for the RMA competency route; written confirmation of NCCA accreditation for the RMA; Registered Dental Assistant exam eligibility. Ask AMT.
  3. Arizona. The rule or policy naming DANB RHS as the approved radiography exam; whether CTED students may expose radiographs or polish under supervision before passing the exams. Ask the Arizona State Board of Dental Examiners.
  4. Michigan. The outcome of the 2025 revision of R 338.11411 and whether a high school radiography course can be substantially equivalent (LARA Board of Dentistry); the Mott renewal after November 1, 2026 and the CTEIS credentials for 51.0000 (MDE OCTE).
  5. North Carolina. DPI licensure areas for HU45 and HU46 instructors (NC DPI Licensure); whether the Dental Board has approved any high school dental assisting course; the statewide list of Career and College Promise medical assisting pathways (NCCCS).
  6. Virginia. Whether supervised Dental Careers II students may expose radiographs before earning the 18VAC60-21-170 credential (Board of Dentistry); whether CCMA or CDA meets 8VAC20-23-250 and the CIP for courses 8345 and 8346 (VDOE).
  7. Pennsylvania. Program of study lists for 51.0801, 51.0899 and 51.0601 and the credential list (PDE); any EFDA minimum age in the Dental Law (State Board of Dentistry); dental X-ray registration (DEP).
  8. Missouri. Whether a state dental assisting program code exists and which code career centers report under; the medical assisting MOSIS code and credential list (DESE Health Science); dental X-ray rules (DHSS).
  9. Hawaii. The Diagnostic Services credential list (HIDOE CTE); early college offerings in medical assisting or phlebotomy (UHCC Early College); radiation rules for dental X-ray units (DOH Indoor and Radiological Health Branch).
  10. All states. X-ray equipment registration for school dental labs; physician delegation limits for medical assistants outside Michigan and Arizona (state medical boards).

Sources

Jobs and pay

Credentials

Working with minors

Licensing and outside approvals

Instructors

Program, lab and credit

See something out of date? Tell us.